THE RIGHT

TECHNOLOGY FOR

YOUR PROJECT

A composite material consists of at least two components, the reinforcement, often in the form of fibres, and a matrix, ensuring their cohesion.


The objective is then to combine the two elements in order to create a new material with new properties.


Several transformation processes exist but they all have their points of differentiation.
Mont Blanc Composite has chosen to master several of them, such as RTM Light, RTM Heavy, SMC or Vacuum infusion.

VACUUM INFUSION

This moulding method requires the manufacture of a single mould. It is then dressed by the fiber reinforcement. Using a lost tarp or silicone tarp, the mould is hermetically sealed to create a vacuum. The resin is then injected and released through the created vacuum. This process guarantees a smooth side, a regularity in the thickness of the workpiece as well as an excellent reinforcement rate. The means employed are not very expensive but, on the other hand, requires more manpower than other processes.

TOOLING

SERIES

PART

MECHANICAL CHARACT.

+

+

+

RTM Light

RTM Light, or RTM Eco, is a type of closed molding. It requires a mold (matrix) and a counter mold (punch). The mould is first covered with the fiber reinforcement. The counter-mould is then placed on the mould. Using a vacuum pump, the air between the mould and the counter-mould is released. The resin is then injected and spreads thanks to the created vacuum. This process guarantees a good surface appearance, repeatability and is well suited for medium series.

TOOLING

SERIES

PART

+

MECHANICAL CHARACT.

RTM Heavy

RTM Heavy is also a closed mould moulding process. The reinforcements are coated dry in a rigid mould. The counter mould, also rigid, is then closed on the mould using a platen press. The whole being hermetically closed which creates vacuum so the resin can be injected. As a results of the pressing action, the part is smooth from all sides, with a high fibre content and perfectly respected geometries. Reproducibility is high and cycle times reduced.

TOOLING

SERIES

PART

+

MECHANICAL CHARACT.

+

SMC

SMC (Sheet Moulding Compound) is a thermocompression molding technique. A mould and a counter mould, rigid and heated, are placed in press. The material, a set of resin and fiber, is introduced inside the mould. It spreads under the combined effect of pressure and heat. Polymerization is fast, reducing cycle times to just a few minutes. All sides of the workpiece are smooth and geometries are perfect. Reproducibility is very high therefore this process is suitable for larger series.

TOOLING

SERIES

PART

+

MECHANICAL CHARACT.

CHOISIR LA TECHNOLOGIE

ADAPTÉE A SON PROJET

Un matériau composite est constitué au minimum de deux composants, le renfort, se présentant souvent sous forme de fibres, et une matrice, assurant leur cohésion.

 

L’objectif est alors d’associer les deux éléments afin de créer un nouveau matériau aux

propriétés nouvelles.

 

Plusieurs moyens de transformation existent mais tous se différencient par un ou plusieurs points.

 

Afin de pouvoir répondre à tous types de projets, Mont Blanc Composite a fait le choix de maîtriser plusieurs de ces procédés, tels que le RTM Light, le RTM Lourd, le SMC ou encore l’infusion sous vide.

INFUSION SOUS VIDE

Cette méthode de moulage nécessite la fabrication d’un seul moule. Ce dernier est alors habillé par le renfort fibré. A l’aide de bâche perdue ou de bâche silicone, le moule est hermétiquement fermé afin de créer le vide. La résine est ensuite injectée et se répand grâce au vide créé. Ce procédé garanti une face lisse, une régularité dans l’épaisseur de la pièce ainsi qu’un excellent taux de renfort. Les moyens mis en œuvre sont très peux coûteux mais nécessite en revanche plus de main d’œuvre que les autres procédés.

OUTILLAGE

SERIE

PIECE

CARACT. MECA.

RTM Light

Le RTM Light, ou RTM Eco, est un type de moulage en moule fermé. Il nécessite donc un moule (matrice) et un contre-moule (poinçon). Le moule est préalablement habillé du renfort fibré. Le contre-moule vient alors se placer sur le moule. A l’aide d’une pompe à vide, l’air présent entre le moule et le contre-moule est évacué. C’est alors que la résine est injectée et se répand grâce au vide créé. Ce procédé garanti un bon aspect de surface, de la répétabilité et est parfaitement adapté aux moyennes séries. 

OUTILLAGE

SERIE

PIECE

CARACT. MECA.

RTM Lourd

Le RTM Lourd est lui aussi un moulage en moule fermé. Le drapage des renforts s’effectue à sec dans un moule rigide. Le contre moule, rigide également, est alors refermé sur le moule à l’aide d’une presse à plateaux. L’ensemble étant fermé hermétiquement, le vide est créé et la résine injectée. La mise sous pression par la presse permet d’obtenir une pièce lisse de toutes faces, au taux de fibre élevé et aux géométries parfaitement respectées. La reproductibilité est élevée et les temps de cycle diminués.

OUTILLAGE

SERIE

PIECE

CARACT. MECA.

SMC

Le SMC (Sheet Moulding Compound) est une technique de moulage par thermocompression. Un moule et un contre moule, rigides et chauffants, sont placés sous presse. La matière, un ensemble de résine et de fibres, est déposée à l’intérieur du moule. Celle-ci se répand sous l’effet combiné de la pression et de la chaleur. La polymérisation est rapide, réduisant les temps de cycle à quelques minutes seulement. La pièce obtenue est de toutes faces lisses et les géométries sont parfaitement respectées. La reproductibilité est très élevée. Ce procédé est donc adapté aux grandes séries.

OUTILLAGE

SERIE

PIECE

CARACT. MECA.

UNE IDEE,

DES QUESTIONS,

UN PROJET ?

MONT BLANC COMPOSITE

1984 avenue des Landiers

73000 CHAMBERY

FRANCE

+33 (0)4 79 69 92 09

contact@mb-composite.fr